Shock Waves

 

Of course. I take a month off to focus on my own problems, and everything relating to what I’ve been posting about starts happening. Like this:

age of volcanoes action news flash: March 11, 2011: Japan is rocked by a magnitude 9.0 earthquake centered off the coast northeast of Tokyo.

The resultant tsunami was devastating.

Dozens of coastal cities and villages have been ravaged. Some towns no longer exist. Most concerning is the potential of nuclear power plant meltdowns. Thousands are homeless. Millions have no power or fresh water. It is too early to tally the dead.

The shock waves will reverberate for a long, long time.

 

May 1984, southern California: an upstart teenage living tiki finds himself having a dinner table debate with his 62 year old father about the proliferation of nuclear weapons. And making the mistake of bringing up Hiroshima….

Me: …and we didn’t even need to drop the atomic bomb on Hiroshima – there were alternatives.

Dad: Except that you wouldn’t exist.

Me: Well, sure, if you consider I… uh… what?

Dad: Don’t you remember? I was certain to be part of the invasion of mainland Japan had we not dropped the bomb. Forget D-Day, this would have been the mother of all battles. They were predicting a casualty rate of 85% on both sides. I most likely would have died, and you would never have been born. The atom bomb was the only option.

Me: So, basically you’re saying in order for me to live, 100,000 Japanese people had to die?


Dad: No, more like 200,000 Japanese people.


Me: ….

Dad: Don’t feel bad, you’re definitely not alone. There’s probably millions like you, both American and Japanese, who owe their very existence to the citizens of Hiroshima and Nagasaki. You can truly call yourselves children of the atom bomb.

Despite my father’s Mr. Spock style of presenting reality (He always won debates), this had a profound effect on me. Not at first, although the many Japanese items brought home from my father’s time in occupied Japan (and future Naval visits) didn’t help. We had Japanese painted screens, Japanese tea sets, Japanese furniture, Japanese dolls, and, if you wanted to risk hearing my father ramble endlessly about World War II, you could ask to see his Japanese rifle, bayonet, and sword. My mother would tell me stories of the Japanese-Americans who were forced into “internment” camps in California: Japanese fathers would bury the family’s Samurai sword so the American soldiers wouldn’t steal it, and the mothers chose to smash their beautiful, antique china on the kitchen floor rather than let the soldiers “confiscate” it as well.

Thanks, Mom. That really didn’t help either.

It’s not so much a guilt trip that has gestated inside my brain over these many years as it is a feeling of indebtedness. And what I owe the souls of Hiroshima and Nagasaki is a life worth telling them about when I finally bump into them at the pearly gates. I also feel oddly akin to my living atomic brothers and sisters, even though I have yet to visit Japan or would even consider myself a “Japanophile”. However, my cosmic linkage to the land of the rising sun does manifest in some interesting ways, like artwork:

a living tiki original art gallery: A sampling of my Japanese influenced art (I have larger, more elaborate ones, but the smaller ones reproduced better).

(Apologies for the photo quality. They are actually photos of copies, and the current high-tech age of volcanoes image transfer method is a super-cheap digital camera and “Windows XP for Dummies.”)

“Mr. Sparkle”

 


“Haruka Loves Jupiter”

 

“The Island On The Edge of Forever”


“Any Moment Now”

 

untitled

 

“Coy”

I still can’t even speak Japanese, so the Kanji translations of phrases I wrote were provided by an awesome girl named Michiko (who had a boyfriend – dammit!) If you can read Japanese, you would know my name.

 


It wrenched my heart to see the tsunami happen LIVE on TV. All I could do was whisper the word “no” over and over.


I would like to elaborate on possible connections this tragedy has to everything else I’ve been posting about (especially since a few volcanoes have erupted as well), but out of respect and sadness, I will leave this for upcoming new posts. However, what happened to Japan seems to be part of some “energy” that is affecting all of us, individually and collectively, as well as the planets in our solar system. That’s why the Middle East is erupting up in protest, and why my own life has been a bumpy ride for a couple of months. What the source of this energy is, I am unable to determine at this time. However, the evil powers that be do know about this energy and utilize it to their own benefit as much as they can.

Oddly (or psychically), I starting writing this post about the energy “wave” that seems to be affecting us around the time the Japan quake occurred. At almost the exact moment the tsunami started, I titled the post “Surf’s Up!” – Believe it or not! After doing that, I saved what I had, took a break, turned on the news and saw….

 

At this time the ghosts of Hiroshima and Nagasaki are calling upon me to pay forward my debt in doing what I possibly can for the victims of the earthquake and tsunami. And since I am currently working on a unique art “fundraiser” for myself, I will also create artwork to raise money for the affected people of Japan as well.

As soon as I am able to draw them, I will post them on this blog if any of my five readers would like to purchase a copy with the proceeds going to relief (and know that I will find the most direct way to give the money to the people who need it. Plus, I’m kidding about having five readers – I have seven.)

 

Until then, I can only hope for Japan that miracles still happen.

Four months old and survived a tsunami. Banzai!

 

ONGOWA!

 


~ by the living tiki on March 14, 2011.

2 Responses to “Shock Waves”

  1. From the heart as always mr tiki.

    Thanks for sharing your art – really wonderful!

    I agree that we are all picking up on this energy, but quite an amazing sync with the wave. I had been helping to entertain some Japanese guests in the days just prior to the quake, the girl was very pretty & I must admit I did think of you & how you would have enjoyed being here 🙂 They were on there way home via a brief stop over in Thailand when the quake happened. The timing amazes me, how people live or die or are a part of something or are not – what is inside us, I think, has so much to do with this.

    I love that caring that is wrapped up in this post

  2. You’ve gained a reader…

Leave a Reply

 
